Firework Regulations


As of May 2019, City Ordinance 712, Section 1, Section 9-607 states the following:

  • No fireworks shall be discharged, exploded or ignited within five hundred feet of any firework stand, church, hospital, asylum, unharvested flammable agricultural crops, public school, or public property.  

  • Fireworks are to be discharged on July 1 through July 5 between the hours of 9:00 AM and 10:00 PM on private property, and July 4 only, between the hours of 9:00 AM and 11:30 PM unless the 4th falls on a Monday - Thursday or Sunday, in which the hours revert to 9:00 AM to 10:30 PM.  

  • Consumer must have written permission from property owner to discharge fireworks upon private property from July 1 through July 5.  

  • In the event of a county-wide or state-wide burn ban, the City Council gives authority to the Fire Chief to place additional restrictions on the discharge of fireworks as he deems appropriate.  

We recommend you check this FAQ annually in case the Ordinance is changed or a burn ban alters the restrictions.