The City of Choctaw is a “Home Rule” city. Choctaw voters adopted its initial Charter in 1973. In April of 1999, Choctaw residents voted to amend the Charter and approved the proposition allowing the City Manager to reside within the city limits and/or the Choctaw-Nicoma Park school district.


The municipal government operates under a “Council-Manager” form of government as provided by the City Charter. The City Manager executes the laws and administers the government of the City. Pursuant to its provisions and subject only to the limitations imposed by the Oklahoma Constitution and by our Charter, all powers of the City are vested in an Elective Council, which:

  • Adopts Budgets

  • Appoints:

    • All Boards, Commissions, and Trusts

    • City Attorney

    • City Manager

    • Municipal Judge

  • Determines Policies

  • Enacts Local Legislation

The City of Choctaw operates from four campuses throughout the City:

  • City Hall (the hub of all public activity for Choctaw residents) which is located at:
    2500 N Choctaw Road
    Choctaw, OK 73020

  • Choctaw Police Station which is located at:
    13240 NE 23rd Street
    Choctaw, OK 73020

  • Fire Department which operates from:
    14181 NE 23rd Street
    Choctaw, OK 73020

  • Public Works which operates from City Hall and the Choctaw Business and Industrial Park (site of the maintenance facility and sewage treatment plant)